Racial Justice Workshop

Saturday January 20, 2018, 11am - 3:30 pm Eastern Time

 

 

 

Here are the start times in each of Canada's time zones:

 

LocationLocal TimeTime Zone
St. John's (Canada - Newfoundland and Labrador) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 12:30:00 pm NST
Halifax (Canada - Nova Scotia) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 12:00:00 noon AST
Toronto (Canada - Ontario) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 11:00:00 am EST
Winnipeg (Canada - Manitoba) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 10:00:00 am CST
Regina (Canada - Saskatchewan) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 10:00:00 am CST
Edmonton (Canada - Alberta) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:00:00 am MST
Vancouver (Canada - British Columbia) Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:00:00 am PST

 

Racial justice training for all active ministry personnel was mandated at the 39th General Council 2006. The proposal came out of a long history of the United Church's engagement with issues of social justice. In 2000, the United Church adopted its Anti-Racism Policy statement; racial justice training is one effort to help the church continue to live out its principles.

As of 2017 we're also opening this program to all members of the church. The Program Committe on Programs, Mission and Ministry notes, "The current form of the racial justice training is receiving very good feedback, and it is therefore particularly commended to people serving in any leadership capacity within the church."


The Online Process

We're going to use Internet tools and telephone conference call technology to simulate a face-to-face workshop. Participants will be asked to dial in to the conference call system at the appointed time, using an ordinary telephone. They'll also be asked to use an Internet browser to navigate to the page where we'll be showing a PowerPoint presentation.

The telephone conference call system is specially designed to allow for break-out groups, and much of the work will be in small group discussion.You will connect to the conference call via a toll-free long distance number; there will be no additional cost.


Cost: $50 -- $10 discount if you pay online

 

Sign up Now!
 

Click HERE to Register

 

If these dates aren't convenient for you, click HERE for our waiting list, and we'll email you when new dates are announced.

Notes and Resources from Meetings
 
These are available under the Resources section of this website. Click HERE