Racial Justice Workshop

Tuesday October 31, 2017 11am - 3:30pm Eastern Time

or Monday/Wednesday November 13 & 15, 11am - 1:00 pm Eastern Time

 

 

 

Here are the start times in each of Canada's time zones:

October 31
November 13/15

12:30 pm  Newfoundland Time (St. John's)
12:00 noon  Atlantic Time (Halifax)
11:00 am  Eastern Time (Toronto)
10:00 am  Central Time (Winnipeg)
9:00 am  Saskatchewan Time (Regina)
9:00 am  Mountain Time (Calgary)
8:00 am  Pacific Time (Vancouver)

12:30 pm  Newfoundland Time (St. John's)
12:00 noon  Atlantic Time (Halifax)
11:00 am  Eastern Time (Toronto)
10:00 am  Central Time (Winnipeg)
10:00 am  Saskatchewan Time (Regina)
9:00 am  Mountain Time (Calgary)
8:00 am  Pacific Time (Vancouver)

 

Racial justice training for all active ministry personnel was mandated at the 39th General Council 2006. The proposal came out of a long history of the United Church's engagement with issues of social justice. In 2000, the United Church adopted its Anti-Racism Policy statement; racial justice training is one effort to help the church continue to live out its principles.

As of 2017 we're also opening this program to all members of the church. The Program Committe on Programs, Mission and Ministry notes, "The current form of the racial justice training is receiving very good feedback, and it is therefore particularly commended to people serving in any leadership capacity within the church."


The Online Process

We're going to use Internet tools and telephone conference call technology to simulate a face-to-face workshop. Participants will be asked to dial in to the conference call system at the appointed time, using an ordinary telephone. They'll also be asked to use an Internet browser to navigate to the page where we'll be showing a PowerPoint presentation.

The telephone conference call system is specially designed to allow for break-out groups, and much of the work will be in small group discussion.You will connect to the conference call via a toll-free long distance number; there will be no additional cost.


Cost: $50 -- $10 discount if you pay online

 

Sign up Now!
 

Click HERE to Register

 

If these dates aren't convenient for you, click HERE for our waiting list, and we'll email you when new dates are announced.

Notes and Resources from Meetings
 
These are available under the Resources section of this website. Click HERE